Launch Hands-On Inclusion

Sustainable Development Goal(s): 5. Gender equality8. Decent work and economic growth10. Reduced inequalities17. Partnerships for the goals

Priorities for change: Work & Inclusion
Launch Hands-On Inclusion

More diversity and inclusion in the workforce
is not the ‘nice’ thing to do,
it’s the ‘smart’ thing to do.

More diversity means more different perspectives on your workfloor. It means representation of more types of customers in your workforce and it leads to more innovation and better performance.

Better results can be reflected in products and services tailored to a broader range of customers. Having your product screened by for example people with a handicap or people with a migration background can suggest interesting alterations.
Better results can also show in less occupational accidents. An HR-director testifies: “we put stickers in eight languages and pictograms on our machines, because we have people speaking different languages as well as people with a handicap on our workfloor. In the end, it encouraged clearer communication among all our employees and makes for a safer workfloor.”

Everyone agrees - more diversity and inclusion can bring about better results - but there is a condition. Diverse teams need to be well managed. Different perspectives can also create challenges for collaboration, such as cultural resistance, communication barriers, overcoming negativity and building trust. To overcome these challenges, it’s important to create a clear team context with a code of conduct and community building. At the same time, effective communication with a joint language, cross-cultural awareness and a good feedback culture are imperative. Furthermore, it’s essential to build new competencies such as inclusive leadership skills and unconscious bias mitigation strategies. These are the priorities to establish an inclusive organizational culture. Without an inclusive culture, efforts to create diverse teams are in vain.

 

These are some of the insights shared during The Shift workshops in 2020. The next step in 2021 is to develop your own action plan – in order to implement more diversity and inclusion in your workforce. Therefore, The Shift is collaborating in the ‘Hands-on Inclusion’ partnership. Together with 12 partners in Flanders, Hands-on Inclusion is supporting employers to evolve to a more inclusive organization with how to recruit and retain diverse talents.

Why and how you create an inclusive organization, you will learn via practical bootcamps, individual coaching, screening of vacancies and much more. Hands-on Inclusion will provide you arguments, smart strategies and practical tools to develop your own action plan. Different offerings will be scheduled throughout 2021 and 2022. Stay tuned by registering for our newsletter or the one from HOI and we hope to welcome you there!

 

! UPDATE ! We launched the Hands-on Inclusion bootcamp offer for this autumn. Each track will involve five virtual meetings. As always, the courses are divided into three regions: Antwerp & Halle-Vilvoorde, East & West Flanders and Leuven & Limburg. This way, participants can (virtually) build a local network!
Would you like to learn more about inclusive entrepreneurship and can you count on tailor-made support from various experts? Surf to handsoninclusion.be and discover our offer of free and practice-oriented bootcamps!
Together we put inclusive entrepreneurship into action.

 

Members mentioned in this article

Lancement Hands-On Inclusion

Sustainable Development Goal(s): 5. Gender equality8. Decent work and economic growth10. Reduced inequalities17. Partnerships for the goals

Priorities for change: Work & Inclusion
Lancement Hands-On Inclusion

Plus de diversité et d'inclusion sur le lieu de travail
n'est pas la chose la plus "gentille" à faire,
c'est la chose "intelligente" à faire.

Plus de diversité signifie plus de perspectives différentes sur votre lieu de travail. Cela signifie que votre main-d'œuvre représente davantage de types de clients, ce qui se traduit par plus d'innovation et de meilleures performances. 

De meilleurs résultats peuvent se traduire par des produits et des services adaptés à un plus large éventail de clients. Le fait de faire examiner votre produit par des personnes handicapées ou des personnes issues de l'immigration, par exemple, peut suggérer des modifications intéressantes. 
De meilleurs résultats peuvent également se traduire par une diminution du nombre d'accidents du travail. Un directeur des ressources humaines témoigne : "Nous avons mis des autocollants en huit langues et des pictogrammes sur nos machines, car nous avons des personnes parlant différentes langues ainsi que des personnes handicapées sur notre lieu de travail. Au final, cela a favorisé une communication plus claire entre tous nos employés et a permis de rendre le lieu de travail plus sûr". 

Tout le monde est d'accord - plus de diversité et d'inclusion peuvent apporter de meilleurs résultats - mais il y a une condition. Il faut que les équipes diversifiées soient bien gérées. Des perspectives différentes peuvent également créer des défis pour la collaboration, comme la résistance culturelle, les obstacles à la communication, le dépassement de la négativité et l'établissement de la confiance. Pour surmonter ces défis, il est important de créer un contexte d'équipe clair avec un code de conduite et un renforcement de la communauté. Dans le même temps, il est impératif de communiquer efficacement dans une langue commune, d'avoir une conscience interculturelle et une bonne culture du retour d'information. En outre, il est essentiel de développer de nouvelles compétences telles que des compétences de leadership inclusives et des stratégies d'atténuation des préjugés inconscients. Telles sont les priorités pour établir une culture organisationnelle inclusive. Sans une culture inclusive, les efforts visant à créer des équipes diversifiées sont vains. 

 

Ce sont là quelques-unes des idées partagées lors des ateliers de The Shift en 2020. La prochaine étape en 2021 consistera à élaborer votre propre plan d'action - afin de mettre en œuvre plus de diversité et d'inclusion dans votre main-d'œuvre. C'est pourquoi The Shift collabore au partenariat "Hands-on Inclusion". En collaboration avec 12 partenaires en Flandre, Hands-on Inclusion aide les employeurs à évoluer vers une organisation plus inclusive en ce qui concerne le recrutement et la rétention de talents divers. 

Vous apprendrez pourquoi et comment créer une organisation d'intégration en participant à des ateliers pratiques, en bénéficiant d'un coaching individuel, en examinant les postes vacants et bien d'autres choses encore. Hands-on Inclusion vous fournira des arguments, des stratégies intelligentes et des outils pratiques pour développer votre propre plan d'action. Différentes offres seront proposées tout au long de 2021 et 2022. Restez à l'écoute en vous inscrivant à notre newsletter ou à celle de HOI et nous espérons vous y accueillir ! 

 

! UPDATE ! Nous avons lancé l'offre de bootcamp Hands-on Inclusion pour cet automne. Avec chaque piste, nous nous rencontrerons virtuellement cinq fois. Comme toujours, les trajectoires sont divisées en trois régions : Anvers & Halle-Vilvoorde, Flandre orientale & occidentale et Louvain & Limbourg. De cette façon, les participants peuvent (virtuellement) construire un réseau local !
Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l'entrepreneuriat inclusif et vous pouvez compter sur le soutien personnalisé de différents experts ? Surfez sur handsoninclusion.be et découvrez notre offre de bootcamps gratuits et axés sur la pratique !
Ensemble, nous mettons l'esprit d'entreprise inclusif en action.

 

Membres mentionnés dans cet article