Private, public and social actors building bridges for youth employment

Sustainable Development Goal(s): 4. Quality education

Priorities for change:
Private, public and social actors building bridges for youth employment

Youth unemployment remains one of the biggest socioeconomic challenges in Europe. Employers, employment agencies and youth organisations are joining forces to help young people in finding sustainable jobs or positive work experience. Below you will find some of the initiatives kick-started by The Shift, our members and our partners.

Discover Your Talent: jobcoaching for youngsters

In 2010 some members set up Discover Your Talent, a coaching programme whereby employers support young people in their search for work. At the moment, four companies (Accenture, Freshfields, Nestlé and Securex) along with Maks vzw and The Shift, are participating in Discover Your Talent.

During the 6th edition on May 10, employers of the companies mentioned above once again spent a whole work day helping young people to write a CV, look for jobs online and prepare for a job interview. On the following link you can find all the photo's of Discover Your Talent Day 2016. In the following 6 months, Maks vzw will monitor whether the young people actually get a job. Would you like to participate in this project with your organisation? Then visit the website or let us know via mail!

Watch the video on Discover Your Talent 2015 below:

ENGAGE - a practical guide to employee volunteering

David Leyssens, CEO The Shift: “We’re pleased to see more and more actors from both the profit and non-profit sectors joining forces and creating projects for youth employability. These partnerships go beyond just financial support and evolve into projects where skills and expertise are shared through employee volunteering. Companies stimulate their employees to participate in societal initiatives during or outside working hours.”

In order to share our experiences with projects such as Discover Your Talent and to stimulate other actors to get involved, Accenture, Beci and The Shift developed ‘ENGAGE – a practical guide to partnerships involving employee volunteering’. In this practical guide below you will find tips and testimonies about setting up partnerships for voluntary work. Hopefully this publication can inspire your organisation and stakeholders to play a part as well!

Publication_EmployeeVolunteering ENG.pdf
| 5.4mb
Download

Europe’s Captains of Industry on board with Pact 4 Youth

In November 2015 the CEOs of some of Europe’s biggest companies also stressed their engagement in the fight against youth unemployment during a debate with the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz, the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker and European Commissioner for Employment Marianne Thyssen. This debate took place prior to the launch of the European Pact for Youth at the Enterprise 2020 Summit, organised by our partner network CSR Europe. The business world and education institutions aim to improve their cooperation through this programme, so that more young people can join the employment market. The pact will both foster new cross-border initiatives and boost existing local projects such as  Discover Your Talent or Alliance 4 Youth.

Members mentioned in this article

Acteurs privés, publics et sociétaux ensemble pour l’emploi des jeunes

Sustainable Development Goal(s): 4. Quality education

Priorities for change:
Acteurs privés, publics et sociétaux ensemble pour l’emploi des jeunes

Bien conscients que le chômage des jeunes reste l’un des principaux défis socio-économiques en Europe, des employeurs, agences pour l’emploi et associations de jeunes se sont associés en vue de procurer à des jeunes un emploi durable ou une expérience professionnelle positive. Voici quelques initiatives de The Shift, de nos membres et de nos partenaires.

Discover Your Talent: jobcoaching pour les jeunes

En 2010, certains membres de notre réseau ont créé Discover Your Talent, un programme de coaching de jeunes par des travailleurs qui les accompagnent dans leur recherche d’emploi. Quatre entreprises participent (Accenture, Freshfields, Nestlé et Securex) pour l’instant à l’aventure Discover Your Talent aux côtés de l'asbl Maks et de The Shift.

Lors de la 6e édition qui a eu lieu le 10 mai 2016, les collaborateurs des entreprises précitées ont à nouveau aidé des jeunes à rédiger un CV, chercher des offres d’emploi sur Internet et préparer un entretien d’embauche. Sur le lien suivant, vous trouvez toutes les photos de Discover Your Talent Day 2016. Durant les 6 mois qui suivent, l'asbl Maks vérifiera si les jeunes ont effectivement trouvé un travail. Votre organisations souhaite elle aussi participer à ce projet? Visitez le site web ou contactez-nous via mail!

Découvrez la vidéo de Discover Your Talent 2015 ci-dessous:

ENGAGE - Un guide pratique du volontariat pour les employés

David Leyssens, CEO de The Shift: “Nous nous réjouissons de constater que de plus en plus d’acteurs du secteur privé et du secteur non lucratif collaborent s’associent pour aider les jeunes à trouver du travail. Ces partenariats s’étendent au-delà d’une simple aide financière: les entreprises partagent de plus en plus souvent les compétences de leurs collaborateurs. Certaines encouragent ainsi leurs travailleurs à s’engager dans des projets sociaux pendant ou en dehors de leurs heures de travail.“

Pour continuer à stimuler de telles initiatives, Accenture, Beci et The Shift ont créé la brochure ‘ENGAGE - Guide pratique des partnerariats consacrés au volontariat d'entreprise’. Ce guide ci-dessous contient des conseils pratiques et des témoignages sur la création de partenariats dans le cadre de projets de bénévolat. Nous espérons que cette publication pourra inspirer votre entreprise ou organisation ainsi que des parties prenantes à apporter leur pierre à l’édifice!

Publication_EmployeeVolunteering 2016 FR.pdf
| 3.5mb
Télécharger

Les grands employeurs européens s'engagent via le Pact 4 Youth

En novembre 2015, plusieurs CEO des plus grandes entreprises européennes ont également exprimé leur engagement dans la lutte contre le chômage des jeunes lors d’un débat avec Martin Schulz, président du Parlement européen, Jean-Claude Juncker, président de la Commission européenne, et Marianne Thyssen, commissaire européenne à l’emploi. Ce débat a eu lieu lors du lancement du Pact for Youth européen à l’occasion du sommet « Entreprise 2020 », organisé par notre réseau partenaire CSR Europe. À travers ce programme, le monde de l’entreprise et les institutions scolaires souhaitent améliorer leur collaboration afin d’aider davantage de jeunes à trouver du travail. Le pacte doit aider à la fois à créer de nouvelles initiatives entre ces deux secteurs et à développer des projets locaux tels que Discover Your Talent ou Alliance 4 Youth.

Membres mentionnés dans cet article